Congressional Medal of Honor

The Medal of Honor is the highest award for valor in action against an enemy force which can be bestowed upon an individual serving in the Armed Services of the United States. Generally presented to its recipient by the President of the United States of America in the name of Congress.

medal-of-honor-navy NAVY MEDAL OF HONOR (1913)
Since its birth the Navy’s Medal of Honor, presented also to members of the Marine Corps and Coast Guard, has not changed. In 1913 the anchor that connected it to the suspension ribbon was changed slightly when the rope was removed. At the time of that change the ribbon too changed to the same blue silk ribbon bearing 13 stars that was used with the Army Medal of Honor.
Gillespie MEDAL OF HONOR (1904)
The words “United States of America” replaced the ring of 34 stars and “Minerva Repelling Discord” was changed to display a simple profile of the helmeted Goddess of War. The oak clusters remained in the points of the star, now in a dark enameled green. The laurel clusters were moved to a wreath where they too were enameled in green, in the shape of an open wreath. The eagle that had once perched on cannon, saber in its talons, now perched on a bar bearing the words “VALOR” and the shafts of arrows.

medal-of-honor-air-force AIR FORCE MEDAL OF HONOR (1965)
Authorized in 1956, the Air Force unveiled its own design for the Medal of Honor in 1965. About 50% larger than the other services’ Medals of Honor, it retained the laurel wreath and oak leaves of the Army Medal which had previously been presented to members of the Army Air Service and Air Corps. It also retained the bar bearing the word “VALOR”. Inside the circle of stars the helmeted profile of Minerva from the Army’s medal is replaced by the head of the Statue of Liberty. Replacing the Army’s eagle is the Air Force Coat of Arms.

Comments are closed.